Kitchen journals.

Tonight I made homemade perogies for the first time. I had a recipe for them laying around somewhere, which I’ve misplaced, but I grabbed one from Canadian Living and gave it a go. Turns out they’re incredibly easy to make… just time-consuming. I’ve always had this vision of the dough being a giant pain in the ass and disintegrating in the boiling water when you try making it yourself, but the dough is actually really firm. In fact, rolling it out is annoying because it’s so elasticy that it pulls itself back in when you’re trying to roll it. It takes a while to work it.

One of my colleagues made them last month at work and it got me interested in trying it myself, since I’ve been wanting to for a long time, but just never got around to it. Hers were pretty good, but she didn’t season them enough, so they were a little bland. I let Len do the frying after they came out of the boiling water, because I was afraid of tearing to them to crap if they got stuck to the pan. Some people like perogies to be crunchy on the outside, but my preference is to just boil them and eat them like that. However, living in a household of fat lovers, I let Len fry them in butter and brown them. They were still pretty perfect, if I do say so myself.

If ever you’re interested in trying them, here’s the recipe I used. I made the potato cheddar ones, but you can see that they really are versatile.

I also made sauteed cabbage in the leftover bacon grease from the bacon bits I made for the perogies, as well as mild Italian sausage that I bought at the store. I have black beans on the go for my beans and rice, but they’re not quite ready yet. They pretty much take all day… but they’ll feed me for the next week 🙂

Oh, and I made green olive tapenade. It’s a little too salty, but I friggin love tapenade…

 

Leave a Reply

