You know what makes me happy? Autumn. It has come upon us again and I couldn’t be more thrilled about it. Summer’s ok; obviously warm weather, boating and suntanning doesn’t suck, but by the time August rolls around I’ve had my fill of the douchebags in their speedboats and tourists and cottagers clogging up the grocery stores. Millionaires become so unimpressive living on Georgian Bay. The big egos and showing off of toys they barely use gets old very quickly. Fall is so calm and beautiful, and experiencing it is the only time it’s really worth living in Ontario. I live for this time of year.

A couple days ago I had a bout of Seasonal Affective Disorder because it was raining and cold, and the wind was snapping so loudly I thought someone was trying to get into the house. Len wasn’t here and I was feeling lonely. But as soon as the rain stopped, my mood changed.

My favourite thing to do in the fall is decorate the inside of the house. I used to have these really pretty autumn-themed garlands and window decals (I think I still do; they’re probably in the shed). I get pumped when Bath & Body Works releases their autumn line of soaps and candles (particularly the Creamy Pumpkin hand soap). And I always make sure I have apple and cinnamon scented candles to burn. I have about 3 different candles burning around the house right now, and when I smell the fall-themed ones it puts a smile on my face. Even seeing the leaves fall brings a sense of euphoria that I don’t get any other time of year, except Christmas Eve, even though I know I won’t love them so much when it comes time to rake them up from this massive yard.

So, happy autumn to everyone else who loves it as much as I do. I can’t wait to see all your yard decked out for Halloween 🙂

Leave a Reply

