Potato Latkes and the dead of winter.

As my mother would say, it’s colder than a witch’s tit outside.

6' tall icicle that's dangling on the back of my apartment building.

It’s like the tundra in Sarnia right now, and apparently we’re expecting another snowstorm on the weekend. Thank god  I’ll be on my way to Texas with Dad. It’ll be nice to enjoy hot weather for a couple days. I’m also planning on finding at least ONE of the diners featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and eating there. Dad’s skeptical; he doesn’t like to stop if he doesn’t have to, but I think I can convince him. All I have to do is describe some savoury dish made with CREAM SAUCE and he’ll be all over it.

Speaking of amazing eats, I made the potato latkes last night. I pulled from a couple recipes online and created my own.

Going in to the oven.

I peeled and shredded about 6 medium-sized potatoes. Then I added 2 tbsp of cornmeal to it (since I didn’t have any matzo meal, and couldn’t find it anywhere. How do Jews make do in this city??). I chopped up one medium-sized yellow onion and two green onions, and some fresh cilantro. About a tbsp of sea salt and 2 eggs. I mixed it all up and plopped the mixture in to my Texas-sized muffin pan. The muffin pan has 6 inserts in it. Just grease them with some butter and scoop the mixture in. I had made the perfect amount because it filled each insert perfectly. I made sure they were nice and packed and threw them in to the oven on 350º, for about 30 minutes… maybe not even that long. I didn’t really keep track of the time. I just let my nose figure it out.

Perfection.

They turned out PERFECT – nice and crispy brown and the texture was almost just as I remembered it from when we used to sell them at Zehrs (but those ones were more like a moist bread). The flavour was pretty bang on, though. I’m going to make more for Dad and I to take on the road, and I’m going to make a dill and sour cream sauce to go with them (I bought more dill and I really don’t want it to go bad). I also thought about making more chip dip… we’re going to need snacks. And I know I don’t want to be spending crazy amounts of money on food. I have so many things I want to make for the trip. We won’t go hungry, that’s for sure. I guess I should take a look at the immigration website to make sure I don’t bring anything that’s “illegal”. I think we’ll just buy lunch meat over there…

Leave a Reply

