I resolve…

… to stop smoking. For good. I’m not a full-time smoker and to be honest, it’s one of those vices that although occasional for the last four years, I’m still incredibly ashamed of. I still hate doing it in front of my friends who don’t smoke, and I could kick myself in the ass for ever having tried it in the first place. I guess the important thing to remember is that we all do stupid things in our lives, and it’s getting over the hurdle eventually that matters. Frankly, as a hypochondriac, it’s in my best interest to stop doing it so that I’m not perpetually haunted by the fear of getting cancer.

My line of work makes it particularly difficult to nix the habit because sailors smoke a lot. The isolation, social aspect and bore make it easy to pick up the habit again, and inevitably I end up doing it every season. I’ve been saying since I started smoking that I will quit, and I have a hard time with it. So I’m thinking I’ll pick up some patches and start there and see how it goes.

Until then, I need a smoke…

Leave a Reply

